When A Gift Is A CurseNEW SINGLE:
A PLACE CALLED HOME


Released August 25th 2014
Released as Digital Download from Radio Joy and available for purchase from iTunes, Amazon and all other digital music retailers.

A big city pop song of tradition and place lost in the shiny new urban world of market forces, rising rents and social cleansing.

Following their release of Irvine Welsh’s “favourite album of the year so far” the stunning ‘Easy Listening’ , an album that earned the band glowing reviews in The Daily Mirror, Mojo and The Wire amongst others, Band of Holy Joy return with this beautiful fifties-esque ballad examining the contemporary concept of home in the inner city.

“The track is a moody provocative piece that casts a magical spell, the slow, precise structure draws the listener in, before Johny delivers that sensational darkened soulful croon, lyrically the track is captivating, original and inventive, whilst musically the instrumentation draws you in.

There are very few acts that have the same draw as Band Of Holy Joy, few can create such an atmospheric sound whilst even less have a frontman with same aching voice of Johny Brown, if you’ve not heard the band yet, I urge you track down, at the very least this single and prepare yourself to be seduced by the brooding sounds of the human condition.”


Rhythm and Booze, rating 9/10


TOUR DATES

Thursday, 27th February — Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
Friday, 28th February — Neu Reekie, Edinburgh
Saturday, 1st March — King Tuts Wah Wah Hut, Glasgow
Sunday, 2nd March — Cluny 2, Newcastle
Saturday, 22nd March — Charterhouse, London
Saturday, 3rd May — Badehaus Szimpla, Berlin
Saturday, 14th June — 229, London
Thursday, 10th July — Green Carnation, London
Friday, 15th August — 12 Bar, London
Friday, 22nd August — Studio Bar, Penzance
Saturday, 23rd August — Red Lion, Redruth
Saturday, 27th September — Tiger Lounge, Manchester
Thursday, 2nd October — Servant Jazz Quarters, London
Sunday, 14th December — The Flapper, Birmingham

Click here for links to purchase tickets

LISTEN



SUBSCRIBE


CONTACTS

Bookings: yagiz@charmworks.net
Press: andrea@bluesoapmusic.com
Contact: cassettearchive@gmail.com